Humble Pie–It’s What’s for Dinner

So, the other day I’m driving toward home on a two-lane, straight as an arrow country road. It’s a lovely day, and I’m just enjoying the drive, lost in my own thoughts.

As I crested a small rise in the road I saw coming toward me a long line of bumper-to-bumper traffic. Up till now I had seen no cars coming toward me at all. I noticed the little car at the head of this moving “traffic jam”, and laughed to myself, “Ah, yes, there’s the guy whose job it is to keep the rest of us honest. The guy who travels a mile or two under the speed limit and ties up the rest of the world behind him.”

And then I noticed the road ahead of me. The long, straight empty lane going up, up, up to the top of the hill. And then I looked in my rear view mirror and saw the long, straight line of cars behind me… The song running through my mind quickly changed from “Oh Lord, it’s hard to be humble, when you’re perfect in every way” to “Oops, I did it Again”!

I’m glad God loves me enough to point out my goofiness. I really do want to be humble, and meek, and all those other things we’re supposed to be. I’m also glad God loves me enough to be gentle with me when He corrects me. I mean, after all, I cry easily… 😉 I’ve been corrected by people plenty of times. (Oh, the stories I could tell!) Often I end up ashamed, humiliated, or hurt.  Then there are the times God corrects me. I feel silly, seeing how ridiculous I must look with my rotten attitude, and I feel loved. I have never been corrected by Him in such a way that I felt put down or belittled.

So I say, “Keep it coming, Lord! Feed me Humble Pie! Oh, wait… Can I have seconds?”

2 Comments

Filed under God Stuff, Random Ramblings

2 responses to “Humble Pie–It’s What’s for Dinner

  1. I think it’s very noble of you to keep everyone honest.

Leave a Reply

