Amanda Goes Night-Night

With just a couple of days left of Amanda Week, I just have to include a couple more stories about how cute (and brilliant) Amanda was as a toddler. (Click here to see a baby picture.) (Click here to see how cute and brilliant she is now.)

When she was little, we had a very specific routine we went through at bedtime. After putting on her jammies and brushing her teeth, the family gathered on Amanda’s bed to read a picture book or two, do night-night prayers, and finally sing a Jesus song or two. We took turns choosing songs, so when it was Amanda’s turn, her dad would turn to her and ask, “Amanda, what song would you like to sing?” 

I’m not quite sure how it got started, but she developed the habit of answering this question by tapping her index finger on the side of her chin, looking slowly up toward the ceiling, and saying, “Hm… What song I like-a sing…” Too cute!

Her brilliance showed itself one night after the regular bedtime routine was complete. Books had been read, prayers had been prayed, and songs had been sung. Everyone had been hugged and kissed, and I was at the bedroom door reaching to turn off the light. As I did each night, I said, “I love you, Manda.”

As usual, she returned with, “I love you, too!” with a cute little musical lilt in her voice.

This night I decided to mix things up a little, and responded with, “I love you three!” matching the lilt in her voice.

She looked at me from her bed with a confused look on her face for all of five seconds, then her face lit up as she got the joke. She giggled and said, “I love you foy!” (That was as close as she could get to saying the word “four” at the age of three!) This exchange continued back and forth until we couldn’t count any more for all the giggles.

This joke actually hangs around to this day. We don’t do it all that often anymore, but every once in a while, if you could listen in on our phone calls, you just might hear one end with, “I love you, Amanda.” “I love you, too, Mom.” “I love you, three, Amanda.”

5 Comments

Filed under Family

5 responses to “Amanda Goes Night-Night

  1. Wow. I am really enjoying Amanda week. Of course… since I am just now starting to get caught up on the blog world (dropped out for about a week), it’s kind of just Amanda day. But… still a lot of fun.

    I’m really looking forward to Monday!!!

  2. Me, too! I hope she forgives us!

  3. Will you two please stop messing with my head??? 😉

  4. I think she will… I mean, it’ll be a great story. 🙂

    Amanda – Sure, we’ll stop. I have every intention of stopping on Tuesday, May 15th.

Leave a Reply

