“Amanda Speak”

I couldn’t let Amanda Week come to a close without bringing up her wonderful way with words. Anyone who has spent much time with her knows she is great with language, finding just the right words to use, whether she’s trying to be profound or silly. Add to that the fact that baby-talk is just the cutest thing on the planet, and you’ll see I just had to go here! I decided the best way to handle this would be to just offer a list of my favorite “Amanda-isms”. So without further ado (drumroll, please) the list:

  1. At the age of about one (and continuing for a few months) Amanda would wander around the house saying, “Lodel, lodel, lodel…” All day. I’m not sure why. It didn’t seem to really mean anything, she just liked to say it. Over, and over, and over.
  2. At a year and a half, while I was pregnant with Adam, we took her to the doctor with us to hear his heartbeat for the first time. As we began to hear Adam’s heartbeat through the fetal monitor, Brian turned to Amanda and asked what she thought. She answered, with her eyes wide, “Baby Koobert heart go boom-boom!”
  3. About that same age, she was watching “Sesame Street” one day and got all excited when the Cookie Monster came on screen. She started jumping up and down, pointing at the TV saying “Momma! Momma! Cookie Moncher!”
  4. Another favorite character of hers was “Mee Mou”, who was, of course, Mickey Mouse.
  5. Around this same time I was rocking her on my lap one night while watching TV. Amanda looked up at my face and noticed the reflection of the TV in my eyeglasses. Her eyes got wide, she looked a little confused, then excited, and pointing to my glasses, she said,”Momma! Teewee! Teewee!”
  6. At the age of two, while the rest of us were watching fireworks, Amanda watched “wowie-works”!
  7. When she was three, after a very painful incident of me trying to get an infected splinter out of her leg, she developed a fear of “teasers” (tweezers).
  8. At three, when Daddy hugged her one Saturday morning unshaven, she pulled back from him, put her hand on his cheek, and said, “Daddy! Scwape duh wough!” (“Scrape the rough,” meaning, “Sheesh, Dad! You need a shave!”)

Of course this isn’t all there was; the list could go on for days, but I think this is enough to get the point across. Besides that, I need to go pack now. This will be the final entry for Amanda Week, because this time tomorrow I won’t be at my computer; I’ll be in Kansas City, watching my baby girl graduate from Forerunner School of Ministry. Instead of listening to her baby-talk, I’ll be listening to her graduation speech. Instead of down at her smiling face, I’ll look up to see it.

The one thing that hasn’t changed is the awe and love in my heart that swells at the very thought of her. Throughout her life I have become increasingly impressed with who she is, and who she is becoming. I don’t really know what God has in store for her, but I know it is good, and I know He has prepared her well for it. I can’t wait to see where she goes from here! Congratulations, Amanda!

2 Comments

Filed under Family

2 responses to ““Amanda Speak”

  1. Mrs. I

    I’ve enjoyed “Amanda Week” very much! Enjoy every minute of your time in K.C. God Bless!

  2. Congratulations to my sister on the gradjumacating your edjumacation, and yes, mom, if Amanda had gone to a regular college she would have kicked butt as an English major… too bad she still wouldn’t be able to live down this list.

Leave a Reply

