New Friends!

Yesterday I made my first Pennsylvanian friend! Yea!

Making New Friends

Brian and myself with Mrs. I and Mr. I after we shared a few hours over lunch getting to know each other.

Mrs. I and I made contact through the blog world, and come to find out, we both have kids on staff at IHOP-KC. Even more coincidental than that is that both our daughters are dancers at IHOP, and probably pass each other everyday, as Mrs. I’s daughter is arriving at the Prayer Room just as mine is leaving. Come to find out, we now live just a couple hours drive from where Mr. and Mrs. I live. God is cool at organizing things, isn’t He?

Anyway, the I’s took us out to lunch Sunday so we could meet. When we first got there Mrs. I presented us with a Welcome to Pennsylvania goody bag. Oh my, such a treasure trove! I’m now totally addicted to Tasty Kake. My favorite is the Chocolate Lover’s Chocolate Cupcakes, but I think Brian is partial to the Crimpets (white cake with butterscotch frosting). I have heard about them for years, but never actually had them before. Unlike Hostess snack cakes, which are now made of some rubbery substance that only sort of resembles cake, Tasty Kake is actually cake! With real frosting. I think I’ve eaten my last Twinkie or Ding Dong!

By the time we left from our lunch date, the restaurant had pretty much cleared out, since it was almost dinner time. It was great to get to know some fellow IHOP parents (I got to meet their daughter, too, as she was in town for a visit). Rumor has it there are other IHOP parents in the area, and I’m hoping to get a chance to meet them, too. It’s awesome to get together with other IHOP-related people, especially when they are as nice and Mr. and Mrs. I!

15 Comments

Filed under Personal

15 responses to “New Friends!

  1. Mrs. I.

    A great time was had by all!! Looking forward to our next get-together. Our son-in-law’s parents need to join our “IHOP Parents Group.” More friends coming your way!

    P.S. Glad you two are able to relate to all things Tasty Kake! What’s your review on the freezerized Tandy kakes?? : )

  2. Mrs. I: I totally forgot about that! Thanks for reminding me. I’m heading to the freezer right now. I’d love to meet your son-in-law’s parents. Yea for friends!

  3. How amazingly fantastic for you! I am so unbelievably excited for you (and exceedingly jealous) that I can hardly contain myself right now. I don’t even know what to say.

    1 – I LOVE MRS. I!!! That is, from my very minimal interaction with her. We were going to try to connect when she was last in town, but it didn’t quite happen before I left town again. I was deeply saddened. (I was still a cashier and still on nights at the time, so my schedule was a bit of a mess.)

    2 – TASTY KAKES!!! Wow… I might cry right now (seriously). My mom absolutely loved Tasty Kake’s and got me completely addicted to the things. Only… they’re really hard to find in most places in the country. REALLY hard. My favorites are the butterscotch krimpet things. (Those were her favorite, too… my mom had great taste.)

    Wow… this huge part of my really wants to be in PA right now. Can I come live with you for like a month? I think you’re fantastic and enjoy your family immensely… Mrs. I is somewhere nearby-ish… there are Tasty Kakes… I could make a trip to NY to see the Monet triptych that I am determined to see before I die…

    Well, OK… so I can’t exactly get away for a month. But… I am super excited for you.

    By the way… your daughter is still really amazing. We just got to hang out again today and I love her. I am reminded of that every time I see her (which is slightly more rare now).

    (For the record… I totally did start crying. Today has been a SERIOUS cry about my mom day…)

    Wow… sorry for such a long comment!

  4. Was my comment maybe longer than your post? Oops! Perhaps I should have just blogged instead. OK… I’m going to blog now…

  5. Hi Christine,

    Don’t worry about the long comment. I’m famous for them myself! I’m glad I’m not the only one that does that!

    As for coming to live with us, you are welcome anytime! You probably want to wait a couple months, though, until we are in our house. I doubt our living room floor would be very comfortable for you! Amanda is coming out in October (if all goes as planned, anyway) and we are even planning on taking her in to New York. We’re big Monet fans, too, and would love to go see his work. Also, Mrs. I just found a website for a House of Prayer in Reading (less than an hour from our house) so we might go visit there, too.

    I know there aren’t any words that will bring comfort as you grieve, but know that we are praying for you.

  6. Hey Christine, Brian pointed out that my response was not totally clear that you definitely ARE invited to come out with Amanda. If you want to come let me know and we’ll work it out for you!

  7. So… I left a comment on this… but it didn’t stick. So I am going to email you. 🙂

  8. I definitely think Christine should come if she can at all manage it. 🙂

  9. Amanda: Very cool! That means we have two votes on our side, so even if she votes “no” she still has to come, because she’s out-voted! Yea!

  10. hahahah. Well… It looks like the vote is unanimous.

    I tried the email route and it bounced back. So… I’m trying the comment route again.

    I would love to come! So, if there is any way to make it work, I’m totally there.

    What kind of dates were you talking about? I cannot be gone October 4-6 because of the Women in the Prophetic Conference. (And it would be good if I could be in KC on the 17th as well. Not absolutely essential, but good.)

    Apart from that, I have three things working in favor of this trip:
    1. Paid time off from the bookstore that I am unlikely to use otherwise.
    2. David Scoggan and I are so similar that he would be a fantastic substitute teacher for me. When I suggested the idea to him, he even finished my sentence, in his enthusiasm, and said that he would definitely be interested.
    3. The Daniel Academy kind of crushed my planned trip home in August, so I have some more time to work with as far as days away from the prayer room and all of that.

    So… yeah… Thanks for the invitation. And thanks for being willing to outvote me. 🙂

  11. Mrs. I.

    I vote “Yes”, too! I’ll meet you all at Chocolate World – Ha!! Ha!!

  12. Chocolate world?????? Eh?

  13. Mrs. I

    Well, Christine, I believe Dorean calls it the “Mother Ship.” It’s actually Chocolate World at Hersheypark in Hershey, PA – Home of the Hershey Kiss and other delectable chocolate treats! Definitely driveable for visitors to the Beattie household. (Easy for me to say!! )

  14. Absolutely! Chocolate World is awesome! I was disappointed the “factory tour” was just a simulated factory (they say it got too popular, with too many visitors to keep it in the real factory anymore), but when we learned they give free chocolate at the end, we took the “tour” twice!

    Christine, I’ll send you my yahoo account and you can email me there. Amanda hasn’t been able to get email through to my regular email either. earthlink has decided that IHOP is a spam generator for some reason, and seems to be at least partially blocking email from that domain. Kinda dumb, since we specifically told them we want email from there! Anyway, I’m excited you’re coming! We’re gonna have some serious fun!

Leave a Reply

