Lady Liberty

Last weekend, in celebration of our 24th anniversary, Brian and I went to New York City to take in a show. We got tickets for a matinee, so we had plenty of time for some siteseeing afterwards. We decided to take a taxi down to Battery Park to see the Statue of Liberty, that great, moving monument to our national heritage of embracing the tired, the poor, etc.

I, of course, had a camera with me, ready to catch the moving moment. I must admit to being a little underwhelmed. Somehow I expected Lady Liberty to be a little, um….

 

          …bigger

lady liberty one

…maybe a little…

          …less creepy

lady liberty creepy

…a little less…

          …numerous

lady liberty group

Maybe I was just expecting too much…

6 Comments

Filed under Photography, Random Ramblings

6 responses to “Lady Liberty

  1. Yes, they were certainly weird, all right.
    And you should’a seen the spaceship they arrived on…

  2. hee hee….

    Happy Anniversary, you two. Had my cell phone not gone AWOL I would have called.

    Adam

  3. Adam: Hmmm… Now that I think about it, that was rather a coincidental time for you to lose that phone… Hmmm….

  4. AWESOME!!!!

    And happy anniversary from me as well. Had I not been working the conference, I would have called. 🙂

  5. Uhm, Dearest?

    Upon reflection, I’m sorry to say you were bound to be disappointed:

    >> … Statue of Liberty, that great, moving monument to …

    Sorry, by all accounts I can find, it just stands there, except in the movie Ghostbusters II.

  6. Ah… That could explain it… 😦

Leave a Reply

