New Digs

Wow! Has it been forever since I’ve written, or what? During my haitus, we finally moved into our new house. “New” in only one sense, however. It is actually the same age I am, so there is quite a list of things that need to be done to get it in shape. Oy! If you could see the family room in the basement! Literally, it hasn’t been redecorated since 1970 at least; maybe even since it was built. From the brown schoolroom tile, to the rough wood paneling, topped with the vinyl tweed pattern wallpaper, it’s quite a sight! But, the house is structurely sound, so we can deal with a bit of decorating.

I must admit, it’s the small things I’m enjoying about the house. Things like starting the day with the early morning light dancing through the leaves of the trees in the yard, casting flitting shadows across the room. I haven’t lived in a house with mature trees for decades, and I’ve missed it a lot! I can’t really explain why, but I’ve always found the play of sunlight and the flickering shadows of trees peaceful, and somehow refreshing.

In the last couple weeks, I’ve also learned that cooking with a gas range is not as scary as I had always imagined. The first time I used it I was just sure I was going to start a fire, but I didn’t. Yea! Come to find out, it’s pretty much like using a “normal” range, especially since ours has an electric starter. Now if only I could find something electric to do the painting, I’d have it made… 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Personal

2 responses to “New Digs

  1. Mrs. I

    Congratulations!!! Are all of the pods empty now?!?! You must be loving having some space to move around in and Brian MUST be loving his commute!!! : ) Best wishes to you in your new home! Before you know it, Amanda & Christine will be arriving on your doorstep!! Won’t that be nice? Happy Autumn in P-ville!!!!

  2. Dianna D.

    Hey! I can’t wait to see it some day. Ya think that will ever happen??? Anyway, it’s really very comforting to know you are snug in your new home with Brian’s arms wrapped around you every night. That makes me smile!
    Eventually you may find that gas range makes food taste better than an electric one. I wouldn’t want an electric range — I burn things too easily.

    Just been thinking about you but it’s too late to call. I don’t like to interupt your time with Brian and during the day I don’t often get the chance to just sit and talk. Maybe soon. I know — next time I go run errands. Seems like that was always my usual call time.

    I sure miss you and our great conversations. Don’t know what I would have done without you.

Leave a Reply

