Things I Like about Pennsylvania

I must admit it: I was not thrilled by the idea of moving to Pennsylvania. The lifestyle (how crowded everything is, etc.) is a far cry from what I’ve been used to. In the last 4 months of being here, though, my attitude has changed. I’m glad I’m here. I still miss my friends, but there are some pretty cool things about living here. Here’s my list, so far.

  1. Brian also lives here. It doesn’t get better than that! 🙂
  2. Our neighbors are friendly. When we moved into our house, several of the neighbors actually came over and introduced themselves. That has NEVER happened to us before. We even had one neighbor who brought us a casserole and pie to welcome us to the neighborhood. Who does that anymore? Pretty cool.
  3. I have trees! Not little scrubby trees like we got used to in Texas and Oklahoma (forget Phoenix!). Great big trees, with great big leaves. Starting the day sitting in a comfy chair with a cup of tea, with shadows of rustling leaves dancing across the room and falling on the book in my lap is awesome!
  4. We have squirrels in our yard.
  5. We have deer in our yards. Well, we have at least one deer in our yard. We’ve seen him a couple times, running through the back yards early in the morning. A beautiful site…
  6. A couple hours’ drive puts us in the Poconos, with woods, streams, and waterfalls.
  7. A couple hours’ drive puts us in New York City, where we get to experience all kinds of amazing things! At the end of a long day of walking the city, we get to come home to our quiet, peaceful, home.
  8. A couple hours’ drive puts us at the shore in New Jersey.
  9. A couple hours’ drive puts us at the shore in Delaware.
  10. A couple hours’ drive puts us in Hershey, or, as I like to call it, the Mother Ship.
  11. A couple hours’ drive puts us in Baltimore. We haven’t been there yet, but plan to one of these days.
  12. Just an hour or two past Baltimore would put us in Washington D.C. We haven’t made this trip yet, either, but are looking forward to it!
  13. There are museums EVERYWHERE!
  14. The Chester County Camera Club is cool. We went to our first meeting last night and it was awesome. I learned tons about a technique I had only read about before, and am going out today to buy supplies to try it for myself. (These supplies include an LED flashlight, PVC pipe, black paint, and posterboard.)
  15. The weather is nice. I mean, yeah, it got hot in the summer, and the humidity was brutal at times, but there would occassionally be a short break in it all. There were even a couple evenings when it was too cool to go out in shorts this summer. That never happened when we lived in Arizona, Texas, or Oklahoma. There, it just gets hot and stays that way until you want to die. I like this a lot better!
  16. There are fall colors. Woohoo! No more leaves just turning brown and dying. We have one tree in our yard that is turning deep, brilliant red. The neighbor has a flourescent orange tree… Pretty neat.
  17. Outlet malls! Need I say more?
  18. There are Pennsylvania Dutch restaurants all over Lancaster County just an hour or so away. Now that’s good eats… 
  19. There are awesome grocery stores. That sounds pretty dumb, but it’s true. We lived in a very rural area in Oklahoma, where people still lived on Jello and Hamburger Helper. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, I guess, but it’s much more fun to shop here. The variety you can find is amazing, expecially in the produce section. Of course, there is also tremendous variety in ethnic foods, especially Italian. Yum-o!
  20. You never know when a farmer’s market is going to break out!

I’m sure the list will grow as time goes on. I might even be able to come up with more if I sat and thought about it more, but right now I have to go… The hardware store is calling my name… Who knew that could be a good thing?

3 Comments

Filed under Personal

3 responses to “Things I Like about Pennsylvania

  1. You are my favorite reason to live in Pennsylvania! XO

  2. Mrs. I.

    Happy 1st Thanksgiving in Pennsylvania!!!

  3. Thanks, Mrs. I! We had a nice day. I hope you did, as well.

Leave a Reply

