My Photography Blog Begins

I finally bit the bullet and got myself a blog just for my photography. It’s partly to share the photos with you all, and partly to keep myself motivated to keep working in the studio.

The first photo is there today. It’s called “Christmas Lights”. It’s not really as random as it at first seems. Way back when I was a little girl there was one thing that always signalled the beginning of the Christmas seasons for me. Each year as we were getting ready to put up the tree, my dad would get out the ancient strings of lights for the tree, carefully take them out of the box, stretch them across the hardwood floor, plug them in, and check them for soundness. I never did understand why they needed to be stretched out to be inspected, but I didn’t care, either. Seeing the colored lights sending a warm glow across the floor was an awesome sight! It stirred up excitement in me that little else could rival. Through the years, I’ve even considered getting out lights at other times of the year just to stare at the beautiful spectacle of them on the floor.

This year, as Brian and I were setting up our tree, I carefully unpacked the lights, plugged them in, and stretched them across the floor, just for the fun of it. After we had the tree fully decorated, I went to WalMart and bought a couple more strings of lights, just to take photos of! What serendipity that my attic studio in our new house has exactly the same kind of floor as the house I grew up in! As I spread the lights across the floor, it took me back several decades. I was once again a little girl, laying on my belly on the floor just to be eye to eye with the lights, and marvel at the warm glow they made on the floor.

If you’re interested, you can see one of the resulting photos on “Captured by Light” by clicking here. Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under My Achievements

3 responses to “My Photography Blog Begins

  1. DadH

    Funny thing about memories… I had similar ones earlier this month when “stringing” out our Christmas lights to check bulbs, untie knots, etc… The difference was that I’d forgotten about the shiny floors, and the living room floor we have now is carpeted. Thanks for sharing your memories and your pictures!

  2. Hi Dad, glad to have you here. I was also thinking the other day about the hoops you used to have to jump through to make sure our one, lone, blue blinking bulb held its position at the point of the eaves on the front of the house. Holidays are weird, aren’t they?

  3. DadH

    You’re right. I’d forgotten the blinking blue point — even my hanging over the edge of the roof to fasten it in place! The blue bulb finally burned out, and my nerve to hang out in space melted. It’s good to know that Christmas still has the same point even if the house doesn’t. As a favorite comedian used to say, “Thanks for the memory!”.

Leave a Reply

