GPS+Marriage= Trouble

Our first Christmas as empty-nesters went well. I was worried that it might be very sad to wake up on Christmas morning without kids excited about opening presents. I needn’t have worried, though. Adam knows me well,Β  so convinced Amanda they should call us when they left the Prayer Room at 6:00 AM. So, rather than starting Christmas day missing my kids, it started as every good Christmas should: being woken up by my kids. Way too much fun!

After spending a few minutes talking to the kids on the phone, we crawled out of bed and wandered down stairs to open our gifts. I got Brian a GPS. I just recently found out how much he wanted one when he and a friend from work were discussing how they had both been totally convinced that was the gift they would get from the office this year. It wasn’t. (Instead they got a digital picture frame, which is what I had originally bought for Brian… Sheesh!) Anyway, He spent oodles of time yesterday playing, er, I mean working with the GPS, getting the software updated, our address programmed in, and whatever else it takes to get things up and running. Today he used it to get home from the office. Yep, that’s right. He used the GPS to help him make the drive he has made 10 times a week for three months now. When he walked in the front door he was giggling like a little girl because it was so cool.

Come to find out, not only does the beast figure out the best way for him to get home, it tells him in a gentle, soothing, female voice. It tells him in plenty of time to be prepared to the make the turn, and then sounds a tone to let him know when he has reached the place where he is supposed to turn. When he would make a wrong turn, the GPS’s only response was to calmly say,”Recalculating route”. It then calmly tells him how far it is to his next turn, and which direction that turn will be. When he got in front of our house, it actually told him,”Arrived at destination.”

Now, all of that sounds awesome, but it’s not exactly what a wife wants to hear! Especially when the husband is quick to point out that the GPS never asks for an explanation as to why he took the wrong turn. It apparently doesn’t gripe about how quickly he is approaching an intersection, and never grabs the dashboard and gasps when it looks like he isn’t going to stop in time, either… And, although he didn’t say so, I’m just guessing it isn’t going to tease him when he takes a “shortcut”, either. Something tells me this thing is gonna get me in trouble…

11 Comments

Filed under Family, Random Ramblings, Weird Stuff I Know

11 responses to “GPS+Marriage= Trouble

  1. I am remembering when Cheryl N. got Wes a GPS, she said something about having “created a monster…” πŸ˜€

  2. Guys are pretty stupid really, We gripe about a back-seat driver, then buy an electronic one and are happy about it. What’s with that anyway?

  3. Amanda: A monster, yes. But at least it’s a lovable monster!

    Brian: You’re so cute… πŸ˜†

  4. Mrs. I.

    Belated Merry Christmas to the Beattie Bunch!!!

  5. Mrs. I: Thanks, and Merry Christmas to you, as well! Let’s get together one of these weekends. With the yard work done for a while, we have more time for adventures. We’d love to head out your way!

  6. I bet the thing doesn’t try to predict how many times he is going to get lost on each trip, either. Oh the things the GPS has yet to learn. πŸ™‚

  7. If the GPS ever even hints that it is pessimistic about my ability to follow it’s directions, I’ll teach it a lesson with my other Christmas present, a really threatening-looking reciprocating saw.

    I rule my electronic gear by intimidation. Wraooohhrr!

  8. Christine: Well, I guess you’ll just have to come for another visit so you can teach it the inner workings of a Beattie family outing….

    Brian: Tisk, tisk… Keep that up and Santa may just bring you coal next year! πŸ˜‰

  9. I would be happy to come teach the GPS a thing or two. I am going to Texas for February (my dad’s birthday and the month we lost my mom)… but I would absolutelyl love to come visit you guys in the spring. Maybe we could actually make it into the park… and see it coming to life again.

    By the way… I have a little Christmas gift for you guys. It’s wrapped and everything… but there is no telling when I will actually make it to the post office and get it sent out. (It is, after all, almost two weeks after Christmas.)

  10. Christine: Awesome! Since you were here last we’ve found some cool new places in the park to visit. As for the gift, aw shucks, you shouldn’t have!

  11. That’s a great thing about gifts. Seldom SHOULD we give them (at least in my opinion)… rather, we give them because we can. It’s more fun that way. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

