How I Know I Don’t Really Get the Sermon on the Mount

I try to live out the Sermon on the Mount. I really do! I try to put the needs of others above my own; to have grace with others and their failings and/or quirks. I have a long way to go, though. I proved this to myself just recently. I took part in a contest-type thing, where part of the process is to watch the scoring take place. Now, it’s normal to not necessarily agree with the decsions of the judges, but I went above and beyond. As I was participating, the blog entry I would write about the event was forming in my head. It didn’t take long to realize this was a blog entry that would never be posted, primarily because it wasn’t very kind in its tone or attitude. Below is a revised version of the offending post. I removed any unkind phrases or words, replacing them with my favorite word for bad attitude, “snark”. If you’re brave enough, read on…

There were some nice entries in the event, and there were some pretty snarky ones, as well. The judging was just outright snarky. I don’t know what was wrong with the snarking judges, but they were really snarky. I can understand them not appreciating everything about my work, but it was totally snark snarkity snarking to snark the snarkity snark work of others. Now I snark every time I snark about the snarkity snark, snark snarkity snark snark. Snark snark snark snarkity snarking snark snark. Snark. Snark snarking, snark snark.

As you can see, I haven’t yet learned to control my heart and give others the grace God gives me. It reminds me of Allen Hood talking about how he would get cranky when fasting. He said God told him, “Allen, you aren’t angry because you’re fasting. You get angry when you fast because you have anger in you.” Ouch! So, while it would be easy to blame my recent sleep deprivation for my snarky attitude the other day, I think the reality is that the sleep deprivation has weakened me to where my ability to squelch my inner snarkiness is gone. Oh joy…

Of course, I guess I could say the judges were breaking the scriptural mandate of Matthew 7:1 (Judge not, that you be not judged) by judging us so harshly, but I suppose that might be stretching scripture just a little. I think for now I need to sculk my snarky self back into my cave with my Bible. I’m thinking Matthew 7:4-5 might be a good place to land. (“Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me remove the speck from your eye’; and look a plank is in your own eye? Hypocrite! First remove the plank from your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”)

I’m so glad God offers us free grace as we work our way to Love! If He had snarky days like I do, I’d be in BIG trouble! snark snark… 😉

1 Comment

Filed under God Stuff, Personal, Random Ramblings

One response to “How I Know I Don’t Really Get the Sermon on the Mount

  1. Hey, wait a tick. I thought it was just one of those endearing pet names when you started referring to me as a snarkopotomus. Oh no…

Leave a Reply

