Fall is Here

Well, it’s that time of year again; time when days are shorter, weather is cooler (praise God!), and leaves turn. Leaves turn, and then they fall. And fall. And fall. Can you guess what I did this week? I’ll give you a photographic hint:

Yep, that’s right. I raked leaves. Well, actually, I blew leaves with a leaf blower, but that doesn’t quite have the same ring, does it? The leaf blower does make the job easier, but I found it somewhat distracting. That’s because I found that I could make some really cool “sculpture” in the air by changing the angle and height of the blower, thereby changing the way the leaves flew onto the pile, and how long they danced in the air before landing. I then began to think about how I could continue to create these fun sculptures while taking pictures of them at the same time. Well, needless to say, that didin’t happen!

If you look closely at the above photo, you will notice there are ten bags of leaves. These are not your standard grocery bags, but “lawn and leaf” bags that hold 30 gallons of leaves each. And I filled ten of them. In my front yard. Did I mention that my front yard has just one tree? My next outdoor project will be to clean up the leaves in the backyard. Where there are four trees. One tree, ten bags. Four trees, um… Oh my. Man, do I miss having teenagers in the house!

2 Comments

Filed under My Achievements, Personal, Photography, Random Ramblings

2 responses to “Fall is Here

  1. I’m married to a bag-lady.
    (Title from my forth-coming tell-all book in trade paper and audio editions)

  2. Oh, dear! My cover’s blown!

Leave a Reply

