Beattie Randomocity

I’ve decided I need to quit trying to be profound and just write something. Anything. There’s no good reason not too, right? Since I can’t think of anything specific, I decided to share random things I’ve seen or noticed just hanging around my life lately. It seems like random is like, totaly everywhere, you know? So here we go:

Here is the first piece of random. These are mystery implements I found yesterday. I was searching through my sewing supplies looking for the instruction manual for the serger. I lifted a handful of fabric scraps and found this:

They look brand new, and there’s a bunch of them, so you’d think they’d be important to something around here…  Anybody have an idea what these could be?

Next there is the Tale of the Magic Coat. You may remember our fun at the SnowShow back in December (read about it here), and the fun we had afterwards finding random snow falling from his clothing. Well, now I find out some of the fun may not of  had as much to do with the show as it did with a magical coat. It occurred to me the other day that each time we had random snow Brian was wearing the same brown suede coat. Well, like, duh! It’s the coat he wore at the show, so that’s where the snow falls out, right? Well, a couple weeks ago he was driving, reached up to rub his neck, and this fell out of the sleeve:

More than a month after seeing the show!!! To get the depth of how amazing this is, you need to realize he wears this coat almost every day. For over a month. And still…

I decided the coat was magic after one night when Brian pulled his glasses out of the coat pocket and discovered one of the lenses had fallen out. The screw was also missing. After I tried to repair the glasses with an eyeglass repair kit I had in my purse and found that the screws I had were all too big, Brian reached back into the pocket. He felt around a second or two, and pulled out the world’s tiniest brass screw. Honestly, I could hardly see it. Yet, in the pocket of the Magic Coat, it was easily found. Has to be a Magic Coat…

One more piece of random. This is a pile of Tacky, Old, and Bad that we’re removing from our house. Notice especially the giant 1970’s burgundy colored pom-pom fringe on the curtains:

These are assorted curtains left by the old homeowners. This is not the first, and I’m sure not the last, pile of Tacky, Old, and Bad we’re be removing. (Some of it has even been stuff we moved with us!)

There’s a lot more random that’s been hanging around, but I don’t think I should bore you with it all. I’d hate to scare away all my readers! If you’d like more, you can check out my flickr page. This set of photos includes pictures of Ugly Bathroom #1, Ugly Bathroom #2 (in which you can see the Ugly Mirror and Light Fixture that was in both bathrooms when we moved in), my newly hung livingroom curtains, and the amazing view out my windshield when I had to go to the store yesterday. You can find it here. I hope for your sake you’re not really so bored that you find this interesting…

Leave a comment

Filed under Quirky Things..., Random Ramblings

Leave a Reply

